What is difference between EU and EEA ?

Difference Between EU and EEA

  • The first difference is the European Union (EU) members countries 28 and the European Economic Area (EEA) members countries 30.
  • Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway are 3 countries in the European Free Trade Association (EFTA ) and member of the European Economic Area (EEA) but not members of the European Union (EU).
  • The following EU policies are not covered by the EEA Agreement: common agricultural and fisheries policies, customs union, common trade policy, common foreign and security policy, justice, and home affairs, 4 direct and indirect taxation and economic and monetary union.

Check European Union (EU) member countries here

European Economic Area (EEA) member countries here


References: European Free Trade Association (EFTA) Official website